My FFA Experience

As Wednesday kicks off the start of FFA National Convention 2014 in Louisville, KY, I can’t help but think about all the fun I had during FFA and everything the organization taught me. Although I never really enjoyed the eight hour bus ride to Indianapolis, IN because I never was able to sleep in the middle of the day, I always had a great time once I got there. Between the career show, concert, rodeo, and fun I always took something away from the three day convention.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Being part of the FFA taught me many things. Even though I hated giving speeches each year for contest I learned how to be able to deliver one well. Everything was a learning experience from contest teams to ag classes. Record books was never anyone’s friend but I learned how to keep track of money going in and out which I plan to use later on my own farm. Being an officer I learned how to become a leader and step up to take control when needed. Also because I was an officer I had to help and attend all of the events, plus school, homework, and working I learned how to manage my time wisely.

2011-2012 Centralia FFA Officer Team

2011-2012 Centralia FFA Officer Team

Through my FFA experiences I had always had goals I wanted to achieve but the ultimate goal in mind  was to receive my American degree. I wanted to become an officer, have the first place scrapbook, receive my State degree, and then my American degree.  I was following in the footsteps of my dad and cousins. All of my hard work paid off because I had accomplished all of my goals that I had set. Last year I wore my official dress for the very last time and walked across the stage to receive my American degree. It was a proud moment to finally accomplish my ultimate goal and now I have my younger brother who is following in my footsteps.

American Degree Recipients from MSU

American Degree Recipients from MSU

Leave a comment